DVD Jon’s DoublePlay and alternative media players. And the accursed DBSL

In reply to Ars Technica’s Infinite Loop regarding DVD Jon’s DoublePlay, a venture to turn bypassing Apple’s Fairplay DRM into a business:

The second issue, making it possible to play songs purchased from the iTunes store on ugly, brown media players would definitely seem to violate the DMCA.

But would it still be considered illegal DRM circumvention if Jon implements it as a way to play legally purchased songs on non-Apple players?

What if as opposed to removing Fairplay from iTunes downloads, Jon implements a way for non-Apple media players to check for digital signatures already in users’ iTunes installation, and use the signatures to play back said media?

In a way, replicating how iPods interact with iTunes without removing in-media DRM and using independently developed non-Apple code

The real question isn’t even whether Apple Legal will “test” this in court, but whether there are any companies that want to be Johansen’s guinea pigs.

If one would suppose that we now live in the Bubble 2.0 era, could one not imagine this question as not being so rhetorical? Perhaps by selling DoublePlay as a high-risk, high-return investment; a ticket to enter the highly lucrative iTunes market? New players would be competing not with iTunes, but with iPods.

Alternative players can either compete with iPods on physical design, on features, or on price. And with all those cheapo MP3 players coming out of Taiwan…

A bit of back story: I encountered the Infinite Loop post via Copyfight. The Infinite Loop article covers a story I first discovered at CNN Money via Google News. Copyfight echoed some good (IMHO) analyses from Infinite Loop, but Infinite Loop’s Dvorakian style silo building language left a tinge of copper on my tounge. I had initially resolved to post this at Copyfight, but I got slammed into the DBSL wall several times, over and over again. After several physical meat-space punches into some nearby concrete walls and calming down (consequence of living in a 3rd world country, I suppose: cheapest way to get online is via a CDMA-1x RTT cellular provider (StarOne) with a Dynamic IP address) I resolved to post the reply at Infinite Loop. I guess I missed where its supposed to say that HTML replies would be properly formatted. Some more wall punching and yelling, and here I am at my FLOSS blog.

I’m still feeling very impotent and slightly angry. I just hope some of my message gets filtered from the noise.

2 Comments

  1. Good luck with the site Do you appreciate my circular timetable A JOKE! ) What geometric figure represents a lost parrot? A polygon.

  2. Mike Mossberg, I know you reading this forum, please contact me, because I can’t find your contact details.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

